Events Calendar

Artist Gallery Photo

Charlie Hunter Trio ft. Lucy Woodward and Derrek Phillips

Tue, Dec 11, 2018

Widely considered the authority on the seven and eight - string guitar, and continues to stun audiences with his ability to simultaneously bust out tasty bass parts, melodic leads and swinging rhythms.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Average White Band

Wed, Dec 12 - Sun, Dec 16, 2018

AWB are widely regarded as one of the best soul and funk bands in the history of music. Best known for their timeless instrumental mega-hit 'Pick Up the Pieces'.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

The Senate

Tue, Dec 18 - Wed, Dec 19, 2018

Seattle’s foremost purveyors of “face-melting acoustic riffage.”

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Norman Brown's Joyous Christmas Tour ft. Bobby Caldwell and Marion Meadows

Thu, Dec 20 - Sun, Dec 23, 2018

Grammy award winning and nominated contemporary jazz guitarist, saxophonist, and vocalist trio join us to celebrate the holidays in style.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Groove For Thought - Farewell Performances

Wed, Dec 26 - Thu, Dec 27, 2018

Jazz influenced arrangements of both standard and original tunes have earned the acapella group the reputation as one of the finest contemporary vocal ensembles in the world.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Poncho Sanchez Latin Jazz Band

Fri, Dec 28 - Sun, Dec 30, 2018

Shimmy and shake to warm, slinky, percussive-fueled rhythms, Latin-jazzy sounds with elements of R&B, soul, cha-cha, and salsa music.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

New Year's Eve with The Poncho Sanchez Latin Jazz Band

Mon, Dec 31, 2018

Grammy-award winning Master Conguero mixes a fiery stew of straight-ahead jazz, gritty soul music, and infections melodies from a variety of Latin American and South American sources.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Pearl Django - Celebrating 25 Years!

Wed, Jan 2 - Thu, Jan 3, 2019

Seattle’s Best Gypsy Jazz – with a performance history spanning more than two decades and over 100 shows at Jazz Alley, Pearl Django endures as one of the most highly regarded Hot Club style groups working today.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Nearly Dan

Fri, Jan 4 - Sun, Jan 6, 2019

12 Seattle-based local and national musicians who share a passion for the distinctive music of Steely Dan

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Kat Edmonson

Tue, Jan 8 - Wed, Jan 9, 2019

Self proclaimed “vintage pop” singer touring in support of latest release, Old Fashioned Gal.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Peter White

Thu, Jan 10 - Sun, Jan 13, 2019

British-born, LA-based Peter White has maintained a reputation as one of the most versatile and prolific acoustic guitarists on the contemporary jazz landscape.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

John Sebastian

Mon, Jan 14, 2019

Over four decades the contributions of John Sebastian have become a permanent part of our American musical fabric. His group The Lovin' Spoonful played a major role in the mid-'60s rock revolution, but what leader, singer and songwriter Sebastian had in mind was actually a counter-revolution.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Martin Taylor and Laurence Juber

Tue, Jan 15 - Wed, Jan 16, 2019

Widely considered to be the world’s foremost exponent of solo jazz and fingerstyle guitar playing, Martin Taylor possesses an inimitable style that has earned him global acclaim from fellow musicians, fans, and critics alike. Grammy winning guitarist Laurence Juber fuses folk, jazz, blues, pop, and classical styles, creating a multi-faceted performance that belies the use of only one instrument.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

An Evening with Chris Botti

Thu, Jan 17 - Sun, Jan 20, 2019

There’s nothing like a Chris Botti concert. He’s the complete package: a dazzling trumpeter at home in everything from jazz to pop to rock, a brilliant bandleader who lets his players shine, and a born showman whose joy at being onstage is infectious. See him live and you’ll understand why musical stars from Sting to Paul Simon to Joni Mitchell have been eager to share his stage.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

WAR

Thu, Jan 24 - Sun, Jan 27, 2019

An American Original; WAR was the first and most successful musical crossover phenomenon that forever fused rock, jazz, Latin, and R&B, while transcending racial and cultural barriers with a multi-ethnic line-up; a musical melting pot and an enduring influence that has sold nearly 50 million records to date.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Peter Bernstein, Larry Goldings & Bill Stewart

Tue, Jan 29 - Wed, Jan 30, 2019

A Hammond B-3 Trio equally adept at roiling bebop intensity, gentle ballad word and knotty fistfuls of funk: one of the longest-lived and most virtuosic organ trios in jazz.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Sara Gazarek + HORNS
Seattle-Only New Album Preview!

Thu, Jan 31 - Sun, Feb 3, 2019

World-renowned (and Seattle-born) jazz presents an exclusive preview of the music from her highly anticipated upcoming release "Thirsty Ghost.” This special run of shows will feature Sara’s compelling and signature re-workings of songs from the Great American Songbook, her original compositions, and a handful of contemporary songs (Stevie Wonder, Dolly Parton, Nick Drake, etc). Sara will be joined onstage by the man who introduced her to the genre -- Roosevelt High School Jazz Band director and trombonist, Scott Brown.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

The James Hunter Six

Tue, Feb 5 - Wed, Feb 6, 2019

A permanent fixture in the world of Rhythm and Soul, British Soul singer hits the US in support of his latest Daptones Record release Whatever it Takes!

info
Artist Gallery Photo

The Manhattan Transfer

Thu, Feb 7 - Sun, Feb 10, 2019

A cornerstone for great pop and jazz hits, Manhattan Transfer has built a legacy that began at the time of their very first recording 43 years ago, with the most recent release The Junction, (03/2018) receiving rave reviews. The legendary quartet has been awarded 10 Grammy Awards of the 20 nominations and has been inducted into the “The Vocal Group” Hall of Fame.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

The Delfonics featuring Greg Hill

Tue, Feb 12 - Wed, Feb 13, 2019

The original Delfonics are well known for their smooth harmony and legendary choreography that has brought them worldwide fame. Greg Hill along with current members Tommy Moore and Benny “Primetime” Daniels continues to take the legendary “Sounds of Philly Soul: to a new level in sight and sound!

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Mindi Abair and the Boneshakers - Valentine's Day Celebration

Thu, Feb 14, 2019

One of the most recognized and sought-after saxophonists/vocalists, two-time GRAMMY nominee Mindi Abair has been electrifying audiences with her dynamic live performances and utter command of the saxophone since her debut album in 2000. No one since Junior Walker has brought saxophone and vocals in one package to the forefront of modern music, with a raucous tone and dynamic stage presence.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Mindi Abair and the Boneshakers

Fri, Feb 15 - Sun, Feb 17, 2019

Two-time Grammy Nominated Mindi Abair is one of the most recognized saxophonists in the US. No one since Junior Walker has brought saxophone & vocals in one package to the forefront of modern music, with a raucous tone and dynamic stage presence.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

The Bad Plus

Tue, Feb 19 - Wed, Feb 20, 2019

Progressive jazz scientists. “A combustible trio with a book of finely orchestrated, catchy original tunes, and a knack for radically reconstituted pop covers.” – The New York Times

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Arturo Sandoval

Thu, Feb 21 - Sun, Feb 24, 2019

Grammy-winning, Cuban American jazz trumpeter Sandoval is one of the most dynamic and vivacious live performers of our time and has been seen by millions at the Oscars, Grammy Awards, and the Billboard Awards.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Sinne Eeg

Mon, Feb 25, 2019

Considered the preeminent jazz vocalist in Scandinavia, Sinne Eeg’s distinctive vocals have earned her a loyal and rapidly growing fan base in her native country of Denmark and around the world. Influenced by Nancy Wilson, Betty Carter, and Sarah Vaughan, she keeps a personal touch of soft darkness and Scandinavian melancholy settled in her music.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Terence Blanchard featuring the E-Collective

Tue, Feb 26 - Wed, Feb 27, 2019

Five-time Grammy winning jazz trumpeter and composer. Experimental, eclectic and exotic. "Blanchard, whether he's doing his jazz albums, film scores or working with The E-Collective, has always been an innovator and someone who not only raises important questions through his work, but makes attempts to offer healing along the way. He's one of our most important artists." - Cultural Attache

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Joey Alexander

Thu, Feb 28 - Sun, Mar 3, 2019

Three-Time Grammy Nominated jazz pianist touring in support of his latest release Eclipse… “On his way to becoming of the greatest jazz artists of our time.” – Lester Holt, The Today Show

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Chris Potter Circuts Trio featuring James Francies and Eric Harland

Tue, Mar 5 - Wed, Mar 6, 2019

A tenorist who can remind you of Joe Henderson at his craftiest, he employs his considerable technique in the service of the music rather than spectacle.” – The New Yorker

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Meshell Ndegeocello | No More Water | The Fire Next Time: The Gospel According to James Baldwin

Thu, Mar 7 - Sun, Mar 10, 2019

Some albums are a testimony, some confessions, and some are escape. “Ventriloquism," her recent release, is a place, like its process, to take refuge from one storm too many. “The world needs more musicians like her: creatively restless and ambitious,” - NPR Music

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Joe Lovano Trio Tapestry

Tue, Mar 12 - Wed, Mar 13, 2019

Grammy Award winning composer, saxophonist and producer, Joe Lovano makes his ECM debut with Trio Tapestry, featuring pianist Marilyn Crispell and Carmen Castaldi on drums. Longtime collaborators in various projects over the years, the innovative new compositions blend shimmering sax, passionate piano and exceptional percussive accents.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Catherine Russell

Thu, Mar 14 - Sun, Mar 17, 2019

Catherine Russell is that rarest of entities – a genuine jazz and blues singer – who can sing virtually anything. Her voice is full-blown femininity incarnate; a dusky, stalwart and soulful instrument that radiates interpretive power yet remains touchingly vulnerable.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Antonio Sanchez & Migration

Tue, Mar 19 - Wed, Mar 20, 2019

Five-time Grammy-winning jazz drummer and composer, most recently noted for his composition of the original film score for Birdman, earning him a Golden Globe nomination for "Best Original Score.” He’s one of the most sought-after drummers in the international jazz scene and his playing is featured on over a hundred albums, including his three Grammy-winning records with Pat Metheny.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Victor Wooten

Thu, Mar 21 - Sun, Mar 24, 2019

Five-time Grammy-winning bassist and founding member of Bela Fleck and the Flecktones… Wooten picked up where Jaco Pastorius left off. Wooten has a funkier style than Pastorius, but both were masters of intricate jazz melodies as well as complex R&B arrangements.

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Shemekia Copeland

Tue, Mar 26 - Wed, Mar 27, 2019

"Shemekia Copeland is one of the great blues voices of our time. No one comes close to the sheer repower that Copeland conjures at will." –Chicago Tribune

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Tower of Power - 50th Anniversary Tour

Thu, Apr 11 - Sun, Apr 14, 2019

Legendary horn driven urban soul music - 50 Year Anniversary Tour!

info
Artist Gallery Photo

Kenny G

Thu, Apr 18 - Sun, Apr 21, 2019

Seattle's own Grammy-winning saxman returns for four nights and eight shows!

info
Artist Gallery Photo

The Messenger Legacy - Art Blakey Centennial Celebration

Tue, May 21 - Wed, May 22, 2019

Drummer Ralph Peterson Jr. assembles an all-star group for a tribute to The Jazz Messengers, the prolific big band collective led by his mentor, the late Art Blakey. Marking the 100th year of Blakey’s birth with selections from a new recording, the band will include Peterson on percussion, saxophonists Bobby Watson and Bill Pierce, bassist Essiet Essiet, pianist Geoffrey Keezer, and trumpeter Brian Lynch. “Music washes away the dust of everyday life.” – Art Blakey

info