Events Calendar

Artist Gallery Photo

R&R featuring
Rick Braun and
Richard Elliot

Thu, Apr 17 - Sun, Apr 20, 2014

Hot brass sax and trumpet - contemporary jazz crossover

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Orquesta Aragón

Tue, Apr 22 - Wed, Apr 23, 2014

Known as La Madre de Charanga Cubana (The Mother of The Cuban charanga) as well as La Charanga Eterna (The Eternal Charanga), Orquesta Aragon are the masters of every Cuban style and not afraid to show their versatility with sparkle and flair.

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Regina Carter's Southern Comfort

Thu, Apr 24 - Sun, Apr 27, 2014

Congratulations to Regina Carter for just being named "Violinist of the Year" in the 18th annual Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards for Music and Recording.


"A talented, charismatic player who is almost single-handedly reviving interest in the violin as a jazz instrument."
- Los Angeles Times
Tune in for a live in-studio performance at KPLU 88.5 Friday,
April 25 at 12:15pm!

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Fred Hersch Trio

Tue, Apr 29 - Wed, Apr 30, 2014

"Fred Hersch, one of the poet laureates of modern jazz piano, has also proven to be one of the most durable and forward-moving of any artist, on any arts scene." - Andrea Canter, Jazz Police

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Pearl Django with Special Guests Gail Pettis and
Greta Matassa

Thu, May 1, 2014

Seattle's own songstresses with gypsy jazz favorites!

details
Artist Gallery Photo

An Intimiate Evening with WILL DOWNING

Fri, May 2 - Sun, May 4, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

Romantic and soulful R&B singer

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Lao Tizer featuring Karen Briggs and Chieli Minucci

Tue, May 6 - Wed, May 7, 2014

All-Star World Jazz Rock, 2011 "Jazz Group of the Year" Nominee

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Kenny G

Thu, May 8 - Sun, May 11, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

Legendary jazz saxophonist and Seattle legend returns by popular demand!

details
Artist Gallery Photo

The Headhunters

Tue, May 13 - Wed, May 14, 2014

Redefining modern funk, world music, and jazz - one of the most innovative groups in history

details
Artist Gallery Photo

SPENCER DAY
CD Release Party!

Tue, May 20 - Wed, May 21, 2014

"A lapsed Morman with the looks and charm of a matinee idol, Day’s vocals are breathy, sensual, and intimate.”
– Huffington Post

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Ramsey Lewis Electric Band with Special Guest Philip Bailey of Earth, Wind and Fire

Thu, May 22 - Sun, May 25, 2014

Longtime keyboard jazzman on his funkiest outing in years.

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Oz Noy featuring Oteil Burbridge and Keith Carlock

Tue, May 27 - Wed, May 28, 2014

“Imagine a player with the combination of Jimi Hendrix’s sonic adventurousness, Jeff Beck’s wit, John Scofield’s harmonic sophistication, Yngwie Malmsteen’s chops, and Stevie Ray Vaughan’s tone. Now imagine that player writing and performing music as funky as James Brown and the Meters.” – Premier Guitar

details
Artist Gallery Photo

91.3 KBCS presents
Joan Osborne and
the Holmes Brothers

Thu, May 29 - Sun, Jun 1, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

Considered one of the great voices of her generation, Osborne is a multi-platinum selling, recording artist and seven-time Grammy nominee who weaves blues, R&B, pop and soul. Vocal and instrumental trio, The Holmes Brothers blend gospel-style R&B with electric blues!

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Ernie Watts and the Marc Seales Trio

Tue, Jun 3 - Wed, Jun 4, 2014

“He is one of the greatest living tenor saxophonistis, at the top of his game.” – All About Jazz

details
Artist Gallery Photo

KEXP's Wo' Pop Presents
Juan De Marcos and the Afro-Cuban Allstars

Thu, Jun 5 - Sun, Jun 8, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

17-piece dream team of Cuba’s hottest musicians, brought together by musical director Juan De Marcos who formed the Buena Vista Social Club

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Dave Douglas Quintet

Tue, Jun 10 - Wed, Jun 11, 2014

“The unassuming king of independent jazz.” - Downbeat

details
Artist Gallery Photo

BONEY JAMES

Fri, Jun 13 - Sun, Jun 15, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

Contemporary jazz saxophonist with four Gold albums, three Grammy-nominations, a Soul Train Award and an NAACP award nomination

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Frank Vignola and
Vinny Raniolo

Tue, Jun 17 - Wed, Jun 18, 2014

World-renowned technical jazz guitar duo

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Maceo Parker

Thu, Jun 19 - Sun, Jun 22, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

America funk and soul saxman best known for his work with James Brown and Parliament-Funkadelic

details
Artist Gallery Photo

91.3 KBCS presents Angelique Kidjo

Mon, Jun 23, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

Grammy-Award winning Beninoise singer-songwriter and activist

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Jeff Hamilton Trio featuring Tamir Hendelman and Christoph Luty

Tue, Jun 24 - Wed, Jun 25, 2014

“One of the most celebrated jazz drummers of our time.” - Edward Blanco, eJazzNews

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Brian McKnight

Thu, Jun 26 - Sun, Jun 29, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Greg Adams
and East Bay Soul

Tue, Jul 1 - Thu, Jul 3, 2014

Tower of Power founding members blend of funk jazz, R&B and soul

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Playing for Change

Sat, Jul 5 - Sun, Jul 6, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

Inspiring, connecting and bringing peace to the world through music

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Nearly Dan

Tue, Jul 8 - Wed, Jul 9, 2014

12-member, Seattle-based coterie of professional musicians adding original touches to the well-known catalog of Steely Dan music, reinventing the purpose of a “tribute band.”

details
Artist Gallery Photo

KPLU 88.5 Presents
Sara Gazarek

Thu, Jul 10 - Sun, Jul 13, 2014

" ... she may well turn out to be the next important jazz singer."
- Don Heckman, LA TIMES

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Pupy Y Los Que Son Son

Tue, Jul 15 - Wed, Jul 16, 2014

The band of Cuban musician Ceaser “Pupy” Pedroso – making Cuba and Timba fans buzz!

details
Artist Gallery Photo

John Mayall

Thu, Jul 17 - Sun, Jul 20, 2014

British blues icon

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Albert Lee

Tue, Jul 22 - Wed, Jul 23, 2014

Grammy Award-winning British guitar legend celebrated by fans worldwide

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Monty Alexander and the Harlem-Kingston Express
70th Birthday Celebration!

Thu, Jul 24 - Sun, Jul 27, 2014

In a career spanning five decades, pianist Monty Alexander has built a reputation exploring and bridging the worlds of American jazz, popular song and the music of his native Jamaica

details
Artist Gallery Photo

John Pizzarelli Quartet

Thu, Jul 31 - Sun, Aug 3, 2014

World-renowed jazz guitarist and singer

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Curtis Stigers

Tue, Aug 5 - Wed, Aug 6, 2014

"A Rockin' Jazzman" - New York Times

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Jerry Gonzalez and Fort Apache featuring Andy Gonzalez, Larry Willis, Joe Ford and Jeff “Tain” Watts

Tue, Aug 12 - Wed, Aug 13, 2014

“The band that changed Latin jazz forever.” - Downbeat Magazine

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Tom Harrell COLORS OF A DREAM
with Esperanza Spalding, Jaleel Shaw, Jonathan Blake, Ugonaa Okegwo, and Wayne Escoffery

Tue, Aug 19 - Wed, Aug 20, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

Trumpet virtuoso’s latest project forms an exotic but unquestionably tuneful compound, a dreamy sort of impressionism that once again showcases Harrell’s brilliant compositions and playing. – M. West, JazzTimes

details
Artist Gallery Photo

91.3 KBCS presents
Eric Bibb

Tue, Sep 9 - Wed, Sep 10, 2014

“Bibb shares a raw, soulful voice and a laid-back hybrid of simple folk mixed with gut-bucket blues offering warm, feel-good tunes that are as inspirational as they are endearing. –T. Henry, The Blade

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Amina Figarova

Tue, Sep 16 - Wed, Sep 17, 2014

Jazz composer and pianist knows how to swing

details
Artist Gallery Photo

Lisa Fischer

Tue, Sep 23 - Wed, Sep 24, 2014
Pre-Sale Show

Grammy and Oscar winning R&B Vocalist - 20 Feet From Stardom

details